Home > About > A Brief History

A Brief History

A Brief History through the years………

Year Key Milestone
1915 St Laurence O’Toole School Founded on College Hill at South Brisbane (former site of St Killian’s College) – Commences with 4 Christian Brothers and 270 boys
1917 Flu Epidemic outbreak
1918 Enters the Greater Public Schools (GPS) Sporting Association of Queensland
1919 St Laurence’s wins first ever GPS Event – V. Ferguson wins the under 16 Broad Jump at the GPS Athletics Carnival
1927 St Laurence’s leaves the GPS Competition due to a new rule requiring each school to have its own cricket pitch and football oval
1934 Noel Dempsey becomes the first Old Boy to Represent Australia when he competed in the Empire Games in Athletics
1939 World War II breaks out – over 100 Old Boys enlist to serve their country during the course of the war
1941 First football match played between Marist Ashgrove and St Laurence’s (Rugby League)
1942 LANCE CORPORAL Charles St Ledger (SLC 1922) – KIA in WWII – 29 January 1942. Becomes the first Old Boy to die serving his country
1943 Old Boy FLIGHT SERGEANT Francis Gordon (SLC 1938) – KIA in WWII – 9 February 1943
1944 Old Boy FLIGHT LIEUTENANT Reginald Witham DFC (SLC 1934) – KIA in WWII – 27 November 1944
1954 Old Boys’ Association is founded
1956 The Associated Schools (TAS) is formed. Founding Schools were Villanova College, Marist Ashgrove, Marist Rosalie, De La Salle College, St Columban’s College, St Patrick’s College and St Laurence’s College.
SLC wins the inaugural TAS Swimming and Athletics Championships
SLC also wins TAS First IV Tennis Premiership
1957 SLC wins the TAS Swimming and Athletics Championships
1962 SLC wins its first TAS First XI Cricket Premiership
1967 SLC wins its first TAS First XV Rugby Premiership
1968 The Archbishop Duhig Building over the cliff to Gair Oval and the Archbishop O’Donnell Building, housing the Science laboratories are completed
1977 Camp Laurence on Moogerah Dam is completed as an outdoor recreational and educational extension to the campus at South Brisbane
1978 The Manual Arts Building is completed
1982 SLC wins its first ever TAS Cross Country Championships (and in all competitions)
1985 McElligott Theatre on Savio Oval is formally opened – a 250 seat Auditorium
1990 SLC wins its first ever TAS First XI Soccer (football) Premiership (Introduced as a formal TAS sport in 1989)
1999 Association of Independent Schools is formed. Eight Schools break from TAS to form a new Association. The schools are;
Marist Ashgrove (founding TAS Member);  St Laurence’s College (founding TAS Member);  Villanova College (founding TAS Member);  St Patrick’s College (founding TAS Member);  Iona College;  St Peter’s Lutheran College
St Edmund’s College;  Padua College
2010 Old Boy PRIVATE Grant Kirby (SLC 1992) – KIA in Afghanistan – 20 August 2010
2011 SLC wins the AIC First V Basketball Premiership (the first ever in all competitions)
2015 SLC celebrates its Centenary Year
Wins the AIC First III Chess


25jan9:00 amWoody Cup - event 1: CRICKET

25jan10:00 amSLOBA 2020 AGM Please click here for all associated documents and forms


No Events


No Events